

State of New Jersey DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES P.O. Box 712 Trenton, NJ 08625-0712

ELIZABETH CONNOLLY Acting Commissioner

> VALERIE HARR Director

MEDICAID COMMUNICATION NO. 15-11 DATE: November 18, 2015

TO: County Welfare Agency Directors Institutional Services Section (ISS) Area Supervisors

SUBJECT: Post-Eligibility Treatment of Income – 2015 Adjusted Utility Allowance N.J.A.C. 10:71-5.7

In determining the amount that may be deducted from the income of an institutionalized Medicaid eligible individual for the maintenance of a community spouse, consideration is given to the excess shelter expenses of the community spouse. When calculating the amount of the shelter expenses, the standard utility allowance is utilized when the community spouse directly incurs utility charges.

As you are aware, these utility allowances are the same as those applicable in determining eligibility under the authority of the Division of Family Development's (DFD) Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). DFD has announced that the standard utility allowance will increase from \$491.00 per month to **\$501.00** per month, effective October 1, 2015.

County Welfare Agencies (CWA) and Institutional Services Section (ISS) offices shall apply the new standards in the post-eligibility treatment of income beginning with the month of October 2015 for all new cases and cases subject to redetermination. All other cases in which there is a community spouse shall be reviewed for the potential of increased maintenance deductions no later than December 31, 2015. For any such case, the CWA must assure that any change in the maintenance deduction be applied retroactively to October 1, 2015.

If you have any questions regarding this Medicaid Communication, please refer them to the Division's Office of Eligibility field staff for your agency at 609-588-2556.

Sincerely,

alerie Harr

Valerie Harr Director

VH:km

CHRIS CHRISTIE

KIM GUADAGNO

Lt. Governor

Governor

c: Elizabeth Connolly, Acting Commissioner Department of Human Services

Dawn Apgar, Deputy Commissioner Department of Human Services

Lowell Arye, Deputy Commissioner Department of Human Services

Valerie L. Mielke, Assistant Commissioner Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services

Liz Shea, Assistant Commissioner Division of Developmental Disabilities

Joseph Amoroso, Director Division of Disability Services

Natasha Johnson, Director Division of Family Development

Cathleen D. Bennett, Acting Commissioner Department of Health

Allison Blake, Commissioner Department of Children and Families